Go Back   Freethought Forum > The Public Baths > Food & Drink

Old 12-06-2009, 08:50 PM
Admin of THIEVES and SLUGABEDS

Angry Stupid Baking

I'm a pretty solid cook nowadays, but I can't seem to bake a decent batch of cookies to save my life. Once I made a horrible substitution (canola instead of butter), but even when I follow recipes exactly they still come out crappy in some way.

I suspect my sugar might be part of the problem. I use hippie free trade sucanat instead of refined sugar, and although the bag says it can be used just like brown sugar, I'm thinking that might be a lie. It certainly doesn't cream with butter like my mom's standard Domino stuff.

I don't bake enough to really care, tbh, but I would like to be able to make a halfway decent peanut butter cookie or cupcake once in a blue moon when the fancy strikes me. So bakers, what advice would you have for the baking challenged? How can I make a batch of cookies worthy of the name, preferably without having to buy refined sugar?
Thanks, from:
Demimonde (12-06-2009)
Old 12-06-2009, 09:18 PM
an angry unicorn or a non-murdering leprechaun

Default Re: Stupid Baking

I feel you. I love to cook, but baking ain't my bag. My BFF is a fantastic baker, and she usually is generous with throwing goodies my way but isn't much of a teacher. I would love to get some pointers from others out there.

I think my major malfunction is measuring. I typically read cook books for their ingredients and basic proportions. The amount in most of my recipes is the same across the board, "enough." Baking is a persnickety science though. For the chemical reactions to happen as they should you have to have the right amounts.

For those baking Gods and Goddesses I would like to know, do you measure by volume or by weight? What benefits do you get with your preferred method?
livius drusus (12-06-2009)
Old 12-06-2009, 10:09 PM
Crafty Agitator